San Antonio Missions National Historical Park

San Antonio Missions National Historical Park is a National Historical Park and a UNESCO World Heritage Site that preserves four of the five Spanish frontier missions that were built by Catholic religious organizations in San Antonio, Texas, in order to convert the local people to Christianity. In the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, these missions were a part of a colonial system that covered the Spanish Southwest. Mission Concepción, Mission San Jose, Mission San Juan, and Mission Espada are the missions in geographic order from north to south.

Across the river from Mission San Juan, to the east, lies the Espada Aqueduct, which is also a part of the Park. The Alamo, San Antonio's fifth mission, is not a part of the Park. It is owned by the State of Texas and is situated in downtown San Antonio upstream from Mission Concepción.

The Texas General Land Office assumed custody of the Alamo in July 2015 after the Daughters of the Republic of Texas handed over management. The Alamo Mission in San Antonio and the San Antonio Missions National Historical Park were both named UNESCO World Heritage sites on July 5, 2015.

After 10,000 years, drought, European illnesses, and colonization confronted the inhabitants of South Texas. Many South Texas Native people accepted a new religion and an agrarian way of life in the early 1700s in the hopes of surviving, even if they witnessed their traditional way of life changing to that of the Spanish.

The park, which includes 84 distinct historical monuments along the San Antonio River on the southern edge of the city of San Antonio, was first created in 1975 as the Mission Parkway on the National Register of Historic Places.

The National Historical Park is included in this listing and was authorized on November 10, 1978. It was founded on April 1, 1983, and includes both some natural areas and many cultural assets. The Archdiocese of San Antonio owns portions of the four missions, which are still operated as functioning parishes.

Mission San José y San Miguel de Aguayo is referred to as the "Queen of the Missions" due to its magnificent size and condition. Admission to San Antonio Missions National Historical Park is always free.

How much time will it take me to visit every mission? We advise tourists to give themselves 3–4 hours to explore the park. It typically takes one and a half to two hours to view everything at Mission San José and the park's Visitor Center. Each of the missions of Concepción, San Juan, and Espada can be seen in no more than 30 minutes.

Visit also San Antonio Zoo

hello world!

Driving Directions

Find deals and make offers with confidence

1.2 Billion


Where We Lend:
CO, TX, TN, & UT