In the Texas county of El Paso, the National Border Patrol Museum may be found at 4315 Woodrow Bean Transmountain Drive.
The United States Border Patrol was formally established on May 28, 1924, when Congress approved the Labor Appropriations Act of 1924, creating a corps of 450 Patrol Inspectors. To protect the borders between Ports of Entry was their goal.
The inspectors were initially issued a badge and a handgun by the government. The government provided the oats and hay for the horses, and recruits were responsible for providing their own horse and saddle. Congress provided extra cash for uniforms in December 1924, and the Patrol Inspectors were paid $1,680 annually.
City of El Paso, Through the exhibition of tools, paperwork, photos, literature, and memorabilia, this museum showcases the rich history of the US Border Patrol. The museum starts with the founding of the Border Patrol on May 28th, 1924, and covers lesser-known aspects of Border Patrol history, such as the part Border Patrol agents played in World War II, guarding the border against a possible Axis invasion via Mexico and Canada.
The history of the US is preserved at this museum. Border Patrol and the people who work there, both men and women. Visitors will find a variety of displays within. One describes the vehicles utilized by the officers, such as all-terrain vehicles, cars, boats, helicopters, and planes. Some exhibit relics and details of how the Border Patrol does its duties, such as one about the Horse Patrol, which continues to operate today and still conducts all of its operations on horseback. Weapons found at the border are also on display, along with uniforms used by personnel between 1924 (the year the Border Patrol was created) and 2007.Overall, previous visitors considered the museum to be an enjoyable surprise and an educational introduction to the organization. Some, on the other hand, weren't as impressed and claimed the museum needed some maintenance. The museum and gift store open at nine in the morning. to 5 p.m. from Tuesday through Saturday. Visits are free, however donations are always appreciated. The museum is located 7 miles to the east of Franklin Mountains State Park. Find out more by visiting the museum's website. The Border Patrol's responsibilities were expanded to include seacoast areas in 1925, and the organization ultimately attained its projected personnel of 450 officers. Given the small number of candidates, it was challenging to find qualified personnel. Numerous inspectors were hired from groups including the Texas Rangers, local sheriff's deputies, and individuals appointed from the Railroad Mail Clerks Civil Service Register. Mounted Inspectors from the Chinese Division of the Department of Labor's Immigration Service were another source of labor. The new Border Patrol Inspectors soon realized that because there were no laws in place, they lacked the power to make any arrests. The Act of 1925, passed by Congress on February 27, 1925, gave the Border Patrol its legal standing.
Visit also Scenic Drive - Overlook